Dear Blood Oranges, I think we’re through

My beautiful blood oranges, I know I’ve been singing your praises a lot lately. I mean you’re sweet and sexy and all that …

.. and when it was just the two of us, and maybe a bottle of gin, I enjoyed our time together. I really did. But I think it’s time to move on.

First of all, you’ve gotten a little precious for my budget. Yesterday I spent $9 buying a big pile of you at the farmers’ market in preparation for a party that night. And what did that get me?

A pile of this …

.. .which yielded this …

Really? 1 cup of juice for $9? I don’t mean to be stingy, but you’re not exactly a cheap date.

And then was the party itself (more on which later). Admittedly, when I made the Blood Orange Bee’s Knees, you had some stiff competition with about seven other drinks on the cocktail menu, but you I don’t think you knocked my friends’ socks off. Everyone talked about how pretty you looked, but even that was probably because of the nasturtium petal garnish I dressed you up with. You were like a gorgeous but not-too-sharp date you take to a party. Everyone was interested in you for about 15 minutes, and then they found someone more interesting to talk to, like my old friends The Aviation and The Boulevardier.

Maybe it’s me, not you. Maybe I didn’t come up with the right cocktail. Maybe I should be willing to spend a bit more money on you. But I think it’s time to cut our losses and say we’re through, at least for now. Besides, it’s almost rhubarb season.

2 thoughts on “Dear Blood Oranges, I think we’re through

  1. wilma says:

    Did you use the juicer on your Kitchen Aid for the oranges? Hmm, are you going to be making rhubarb cocktails?

  2. I used a citrus press instead of the KitchenAid. I might have gotten a little more juice out of the KitchenAid, but I don’t think it would have made a big different. And I’ll definitely be making rhubarb cocktails once it shows up at the farmers’ market. I didn’t see any last Saturday, but it should be only a week or two before it starts showing up. And then … cherry season!

Leave a Reply

