Bargain-basement margs

My love of fine cocktails is well documented in this blog. I adore cocktails made with fine cognac infused with fresh cherries …

Fresh cherries and cognac

Any cocktail made by Scott Beattie, like this beautifully garnished mai tai.

Mai tai at Spoonbar

Often I’m lucky enough to enjoy a glass of some truly world-class wine, like this oustanding 30-year-old Chateau Climens Sauternes, which I drank a week ago after Thanksgiving dinner.

Chateau Climens Sauternes

But this week I’m in Houston, and they do things a little differently here.

$1.25 margaritas at Don Pico's

Yep, you read that correctly: $1.25 for a margarita. Add 75 cents for “flavor.” I don’t even want to know. I was informed by my dinner companions tonight, who apparently visit this place weekly, that until a few weeks ago the drinks were only $1.00.

Were they great drinks? No, of course not. Can I make a better drink without breaking a sweat? I like to think so.

But did I drink three of them?

Why yes. Yes I did.

One thought on “Bargain-basement margs

  1. Stephanie Moore says:

    Every Saturday they are only 99cents. I don’t know how we managed to pay 1.25 on Friday!

Leave a Reply

