Mystery item: The Hostess Diary’s first contest

Does anyone know what these are? A small prize (possibly involving the mystery thingamabob itself) goes to the first person to correctly identify them—and I want specifics, not just the general category. (If you are one of the kind souls that gave them to me, or if I’ve already shown them to you or told you about them, please keep mum and give others a shot.) Click on the image for a larger view. More on these later when I’ve had a chance to play around with them, but for now leave me a comment if you think you know what they are.

6 thoughts on “Mystery item: The Hostess Diary’s first contest

  1. Stephanie Moore says:

    Best I can come up with is Mushroom.

  2. Yep, but it’s the very unusual type I’m looking for. I’m making something with it today (I think), so if no one IDs it I’ll describe them in my next post!

  3. wilma wood says:

    My guess is Black Trumpet Mushrooms.

  4. Nice try, but they’re stranger and more fabulous than black trumpets (as far as I’m concerned). If no one guesses it by early next week, I’ll make something with them and describe them on the blog.

Leave a Reply

