Marked Man

Last night I had two of my favorite people, Denise and The Working Cook, over for a casual dinner. Tara made an unusual and delicious salad with mozarella and watermelon, and I made a black bean chili full of fresh summer vegetables.

It also gave me a chance to make one of my new favorite summer cocktails, The Marked Man. I got the recipe from Mr. Manhattan, who got it from the recipe’s inventor, bartender Kevin Diedrich, who’s currently at San Francisco’s neo-speakeasy, the Burritt Room.

Marked Man

2 ounces blueberry-infused Maker’s Mark bourbon (see below)
1/2 ounce Benedictine
1/2 ounce Vya dry vermouth
2 dashes Fees Brothers peach bitters

Combine all the ingredients in a shaker with ice. Stir well to chill. Strain into a cocktail glass.

Blueberry-infused boubon

Combine 2 pints of fresh blueberries with 1 750-ml bottle of Maker’s Mark bourbon in a container with a tight-fitting lid. Now here’s the hard part: let it infuse for two weeks without dipping into it so often to “test” it that it’s all gone before your two weeks are up. Strain before using.

Note: I didn’t have any Vya vermouth on hand, so I used Dolin dry instead. It wasn’t quite right, so on Mr. Manhattan’s recommendation I used Lillet Blanc instead, which is a mite sweeter. And he was right. Perfection!


Leave a Reply

