Girls’ night out

I just got home from book group (which always involves dinner and copious amounts of wine), which tonight was hosted by the Working Cook, a.k.a, Tara, the one of my closest friends who just happens be a James Beard Award-winning food writer and a very talented chef.

Dinner at Tara’s is never an event to be missed, but tonight it was an especially happy, chaotic little estrogen fest. When I arrived there were four little girls (two are Tara’s) between the ages of three and seven eating their buttered noodles at the dinner table, and we attempted to chop and sauté in the midst of their questions, conversation, and display of pink princess outfits.

Later, one of the book groupies arrived with her five-week-old baby girl, whom I snatched away from everyone else so I could cuddle her all evening. I think my ovaries may have exploded, but I’ll be fine in a minute, thank you. Sorry the picture is so blurry. I blame it on the quaking of my reproductive system.

I went to Tara’s house an hour early so I could help out with the last-minute dinner assembly. Of course, she had done all the menu planning, shopping, and prep herself, so there wasn’t much for me to do but follow her directions for the coconut-milk curry sauce and grill the tofu, which was already marinated. Yes, the tofu was that bright yellow-orange. It’s not just the photograph.

Dinner was delicious, of course, and I especially like the tangy, salty chicken larb. Tara came up with it for a Working Cook column she wrote for last week’s San Francisco Chronicle. If you like Thai food as much as I do, you should definitely give it a try. (The equally delightful tofu recipe she developed for another client and isn’t online yet, but if anyone wants it I’ll add a link when it’s available.)


Leave a Reply

